Essential Freethought Library

July 13, 2010 § 4 Comments

The wonderful people at American Freethought have compiled a Skeptics Summer Reading list. See if there is anything you have missed.

American Freethought

THE ESSENTIAL FREETHOUGHT LIBRARY (Updated July 11, 2010)

“We contacted a more or less random sample of notable freethinkers–bloggers, podcasters, authors, and leaders in the freethought/atheist/skeptic communities–and asked them to send us their list of recommended works for the well-read freethinker.  (Among those who responded are Sam Harris, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Phil Plait, George Hrab and Massimo Pigliucci.)  From this long list of suggestions–over 250 works–we have compiled this Essential Freethought Library.  The list takes into account the frequency with which a work was recommended, the frequency with which a particular writer was recommended, and the dates of publication.  Free free to send us your suggestions.”


The Essential Ten (←click Here for original link and full list of publications)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Essential Freethought Library

  • Sam says:

    I wish I had access to the free world (not just in cyber) in order to obtain many of these items, especially those regarding criticism of the item 15. Also I assume one book is missed there and that would be Salman Rushdie’s ‘Satanic Verses’, do you agree with me? I’m sure many Iranians are thirsty for this list. none of them are allowed to be owned by anyone inside Iran, can you believe possessing Salman Rushdie’s book in any kind costs one’s own life?
    good day to you

    • PJ says:

      Honestly Sam, I have never read ‘Satanic Verses’. It came out at a time in my life when I wasn’t doing much reading.
      Since Mr. Rushdie came out of hiding, I have seen a few interviews and thought I should read it, but put it off.
      Now hearing how much it means to you and others in your county and that you are forbidden to read it. I am ashamed of myself for being lazy.
      Thank you for opening my eyes to this.
      May peace and joy be with you.
      PJ

  • You commit an error. I can prove it. Write to me in PM, we will talk.

  • thanks for great informations It’s a wonderful

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Essential Freethought Library at PJZen's The Big Picture.

meta

