“Good without God”

July 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

Adam Savage|TAM8Adam Savage delivered a wonderfully insightful speech at TAM8. Although I was not there, @hemantmehta aka Friendly Atheist was kind enough to Liveblog the event. To read the full speech, which I highly recommend, click the link below.

I think one of the defining moments of adulthood is the realization that nobody’s going to take care of you. That you have to do the heavy lifting while you’re here. And when you don’t, well, you suffer the consequences. At least I have. (And in the empirical study I’m performing about interacting with the universe, I am unfortunately the only test subject I have complete access to, so my data is, as they say, self-selected.) While nobody’s going to take care of us, it’s incumbent upon us to take care of those around us. That’s community.

This from the speech Adam Savage of MythBusters — Delivered to the Harvard Humanist Society, April 2010 Food for The Eagle- by Adam Savage

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Good without God” at PJZen's The Big Picture.

meta

